ADDEDb497rel/platforms-stores3 min read

Epic Games Store third-party sales top $400M in 2025 on 57% growth

Epic Games Store posted a 57% YoY increase in third-party sales for 2025, topping $400 million alongside a record player count. The figure excludes Fortnite microtransaction revenue.

Patch notes

  • Epic Games Store third-party sales topped $400 million in calendar 2025, a 57% year-over-year increase reported by Epic Games

  • The storefront recorded a record annual player count in 2025, with the absolute figure not publicly disclosed

  • The third-party figure excludes Fortnite microtransaction revenue, Unreal Engine royalties, and free-game developer compensation

  • The 88/12 developer share remains Epic's structural commercial lever against Steam's standard 70/30 cut

  • At a held 57% growth rate, the storefront would cross a $600 million third-party run-rate in 2026 (estimate)

Epic Games Store third-party sales surpassed $400 million in 2025, a 57% year-over-year increase that represents the storefront's strongest annual third-party performance to date and coincides with a record player count on the platform over the same period.

The figures, reported by Epic Games and covered by GamesIndustry.biz, frame the PC storefront as the most active challenger to Valve's Steam despite a substantially smaller catalog. A 57% increase signals continued traction for Epic's acquisition playbook — a weekly free-games program, timed exclusives and a developer-favorable 88/12 revenue split — at a moment when platform fees have re-entered industry conversation.

What does the 57% figure actually cover?

The headline number refers to paid sales of third-party titles distributed through the Epic Games Store client on PC. It does not include Fortnite microtransaction revenue, Unreal Engine royalties, or the storefront's free-game program, where Epic compensates developers directly without generating consumer-side transactional revenue.

That delineation matters for studios sizing platform strategy. Growth in third-party spend on the Epic Games Store corresponds directly to revenue available to publishers operating outside the Epic first-party stable, not to internal Epic IP revenue.

How does the player-count record fit in?

Epic also reported a record concurrent and active player count on the storefront during 2025. The company has not publicly disclosed the absolute figure, leaving any cross-platform comparison to back-calculated estimates.

Engagement growth on a storefront with a catalog orders of magnitude smaller than Steam suggests the free-game funnel and timed exclusivity windows continue converting players into paying users rather than only into claimants who never spend. For studios, each marginal active player on the Epic Games Store carries higher discoverability weight than one on Steam, since ranking volatility is greater on the smaller storefront.

What does the $400 million baseline change for studios?

For independent developers and mid-sized publishers weighing distribution, a $400 million third-party pool — modest next to Steam's third-party scale but expanding at a pace few PC storefronts can match — keeps Epic Games Store on the recommended-platform list, particularly for titles positioned to benefit from Epic Mega Sale and Holiday Sale visibility.

The 88/12 revenue share in favor of developers remains the structural commercial lever Epic uses to differentiate against Steam's standard 70/30 cut. Mid-tier releases that break even on a single platform historically rely on that margin differential to fund post-launch content.

What should teams ask Epic directly?

Epic has not separately disclosed refund handling, free-game developer compensation, or regional pricing adjustments within its $400 million third-party total. Studios negotiating launch terms should request those breakdowns contractually rather than relying on the headline figure as a proxy for net-to-developer revenue.

What to watch next

The next signal worth tracking is any 2026 interim disclosure from Epic. If the 57% growth rate holds through the first half of the current calendar year, the storefront crosses a $600 million third-party run-rate (estimate), a milestone that materially reshapes the practical storefront decision matrix for any PC release still treating Steam as the only default.

via Google News - Epic Games Store Steam (Source)

Share this article:

More from Priya Raman

Priya Raman

Show full bio

Market editor covering media and advertising at Game Dev Wire.

134 articles